Friday, 24 April 2009

Wales Book of the Year 2009: The Longlist

The Wales Book of the Year longlist is as follows:

Deborah Kay Davies - Grace, Tamar and Lazlo the Beautiful (Parthian)
Joe Dunthorne - Submarine (Hamish Hamilton)
Matthew Francis - Mandeville (Faber and Faber)
Stephen May - TAG (Cinnamon)
Robert Minhinnick - King Driftwood (Carcanet)
Sheenagh Pugh - Long-haul Travellers (Seren)
Zoƫ Skoulding - Remains of a Future City (Seren)
Dai Smith - Raymond Williams: A Warrior’s Tale (Parthian)
Gee Williams - Blood etc. (Parthian)
Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch - Not in these shoes (Picador Poetry)

A great year for poetry (comprising half the list). Some imaginative choices, too. And good to see Deborah Kay Davies making the cut. The shortlist will be announced at the Guardian Hay Festival on Monday 25th May.

No comments: